Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Brighton Journal | July 21, 2019

Scroll to top


No Comments

The BRAVOs Are Coming Back

The BRAVOs Are Coming Back
Hannah Midgley

The BRAVOs (which stand for Brighton Restaurant Awards Vote Online) are the only awards in the city that gives the public a chance to support their favourite venues. Last year, 27,053 votes were cast by the public to over 400 Sussex-wide venues and across 16 categories.

The awards help new venues to gain notoriety amongst the vast Brighton food scene. Tony Marks, owner of the Starfish coffee and winner of the 2018 BRAVO for “Best Brunch”, said ” We won the award after only being open for eight months, so it helped to put us on Brighton’s food and drink map. The weekend after winning the award we were completely rushed off our feet, and even now, months later we’re still finding that people are visiting us because they’ve seen we won the award”.

BeFries BRAVO 2018 “Best Welcome”

This year, however, the winners won’t be just Sussex venues but also everyone who will cast a vote. Every member of the public who votes will have the opportunity to win prizes up to £200, and every vote will count so the more you vote the more chance you have of winning!

Throughout the BRAVOs prizes for voting will be given away via online competitions. Prizes from sponsors include Laurent Perrier Champagne and charcuterie hampers from The Great British Charcuterie, amongst others.

Andrew Perry, who represents Laurent-Perrier, said when talking about the company’s sponsorship of the BRAVOs “Laurent-Perrier are extremely excited to be part of the BRAVO 2019. Brighton has an incredibly exciting and diverse food scene, forged by independent operators who continue to showcase their creative genius and reflect the people’s passion for quality”.

To get involved and to support your favourite local food or drink destinations, have your say by voting from Monday 28th January at Voting will run for six weeks until the 11th of March when this year winners will be announced online.

Submit a Comment