July 21, 2024

Brighton Journal

Complete News World

20 new temples announced by President Nelson at October General Conference

20 new temples announced by President Nelson at October General Conference

During a Sunday afternoon session of the 193rd Semiannual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, President Russell M. Nelson announced the construction of 20 additional temples around the world.

New temples will be built in the following locations:

  • Savaii, Samoa
  • Kahului, Hawaii
  • Fairbanks, Alaska
  • Vancouver, Washington
  • Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Roanoke, Virginia
  • Cancun in Mexico
  • Piura, Peru
  • Huancayo, Peru
  • Viña del Mar, Chile
  • Goiânia, Brazil
  • Joao Pessoa, Brazil
  • Cape Coast, Ghana
  • Calabar, Nigeria
  • Luanda, Angola
  • Mbugi Mayi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Laoag, Philippines
  • Osaka, Japan
  • Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

With Sunday’s announcement, President Nelson will have announced a total of 153 temples during his prophetic period.

President Nelson participated in the entire conference remotely. It was announced on Thursday that he suffered a back injury after falling two days after his 99th birthday.

President Nelson announced 15 new temples at the conclusion of the April General Conference. While this list did not include a new location in Utah, the recent dedication of the Saratoga Springs Utah Temple kicks off what will be a wave of temple growth in the Beehive State in the coming years.

Utah has 28 temples in operation, under construction, or announced.

There are a total of 315 temples announced, under construction, and operational around the world.

See also  Russia says it will significantly reduce military activity near Kyiv as progress is made in talks with Ukraine