February 21, 2024

Brighton Journal

Complete News World

Japan's SLIM “Moon Sniper” lander reaches lunar orbit on Christmas

Japan's SLIM “Moon Sniper” lander reaches lunar orbit on Christmas

A Japanese spacecraft has just taken a big step towards achieving the country's first moon landing.

Japan's robotic lunar lander SLIM reached lunar orbit on Christmas Day (December 25) as planned, the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency announced. The spacecraft entered lunar orbit at 2:51 a.m. EDT (4:51 p.m. JST, 0751 GMT).