May 26, 2024

Brighton Journal

Complete News World

The United Nations calls on Russia to pay compensation. How did countries vote? | News of the war between Russia and Ukraine

The United Nations calls on Russia to pay compensation.  How did countries vote?  |  News of the war between Russia and Ukraine

The United Nations General Assembly adopted a resolution calling for Russia to be held accountable for violating international law by invading Ukraine.

The resolution, passed on Monday, calls for Russia to pay compensation for damages and loss of life during the conflict.

In his nightly video address, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky said: “The reparations that Russia will have to pay… are now part of the international legal reality.”

But Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov said on Tuesday that Russia stands “categorically against” the proposal, adding that Moscow will do “everything it can” to prevent the West from seizing or “plundering” its frozen international reserves to pay compensation to Ukraine.

In all, 94 of the assembly’s 193 members voted in favor of the resolution on Monday.

14 countries voted against and 73 abstained.

The resolution stated that Russia “shall bear the legal consequences of all its internationally wrongful actions, including providing compensation for damage, including any damage caused by such actions.”

Here’s the country’s breakdown of the General Assembly vote:

Member states that voted against the resolution

B: Bahamas, Belarus

Group C: Central African Republic, China and Cuba

D: Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea).

Enterprise: Eritrea, Ethiopia

The first: the Islamic Republic of Iran

M: Mali

N: Nicaragua

R: Russian Federation

S: Syrian Arab Republic

Z: Zimbabwe

Member States that abstained from voting

A: Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda and Armenia

Group B: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi.

C: Cambodia, Congo

E: Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini

See also  Spain's Figo loses the first vote to become prime minister - Politico

Group G: Gabon, Gambia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana

H: Haiti, Honduras

The first: India, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel

J: Jamaica, Jordan

K: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan

L: Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya

M: Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mongolia, Mozambique

N: Namibia, Nepal and Nigeria

Q: Oman

P: Pakistan

R: Rwanda

Group B: Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname.

T: Tajikistan, Thailand, East Timor, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia

U: Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan

Fifth: Vietnam

Y: Yemen

Member states that voted in favor of the resolution

A: Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria

B: Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria

Group C: Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic

D: Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic

E: Ecuador, Estonia

F: Fiji, Finland, France

G: Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala

H: Hungary

The first: Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast

J: Japan

K: Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait

L: Latvia, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg

M: Malawi, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Montenegro, Myanmar

N: Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, North Macedonia, Norway

P: Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal

Q: Qatar

R: Republic of Korea (South Korea), Republic of Moldova, Romania

S: Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

T: Togo, Tuvalu, Turkey

U: Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Fifth: Vanuatu

Z: Zambia