July 21, 2024

Brighton Journal

Complete News World

Astronauts on the International Space Station prepare to collect samples of microorganisms during an upcoming spacewalk as the departure of the Starliner crew is delayed

Astronauts on the International Space Station prepare to collect samples of microorganisms during an upcoming spacewalk as the departure of the Starliner crew is delayed

Two NASA astronauts will venture off the International Space Station (ISS) on Thursday (June 13), and you can watch the event live.

NASA astronauts Tracey Caldwell Dyson and Matthew Dominick will perform a spacewalk, or extravehicular activity (EVA), on Thursday. The event is scheduled to start at 8 a.m. EST (1200 GMT) and last about 6.5 hours.

You can watch it live here on Space.com, courtesy of NASA, or you can watch it live Via the space agency. Coverage will begin at 6:30 a.m. EST (1030 GMT). (You can read more about spacewalks and how they work on our EVA reference page.)

NASA astronaut Woody Hoburg rides the Canadarm2 robotic arm as he maneuvers a rolling solar array toward the truss structure of the International Space Station 257 miles (414 kilometers) above the Pacific Ocean during a spacewalk on June 9, 2023. (Image credit: NASA)

During the spacewalk, the duo will recover a faulty piece of communications equipment, known as a radio frequency array. Dyson will also survey the exterior of the space station to collect samples to study microorganisms in extreme microgravity environments.