June 22, 2024

Brighton Journal

Complete News World

Google Maps is making a major privacy change to protect your location history

Google Maps is making a major privacy change to protect your location history

Google Maps is changing the way you handle your location data. Instead of backing up your data to the cloud, Google will soon store it locally on your device.

In an email sent to users, Google says you have until December 1st To save all your trips on your mobile device before it starts deleting your old data. Timeline — formerly known as Location History — is a feature that tracks your routes and trips based on your phone’s location, allowing you to revisit all the places you’ve been in the past.

The move to on-device storage also means you’ll no longer be able to access your timeline from the web in December. If you don’t enable the new Timeline settings by then, Google will attempt to move the last 90 days of your travel history to the first device you sign in to Google on. The company will then delete any data older than that.

If you want to continue using your timeline, open Google Maps on your mobile device, tap your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen, and choose your timeline. From there, decide whether you want to keep your site data until you manually delete it or have Google automatically delete it after three, 18, or 36 months. Google will store the information you want to keep on your device.

See also  Hackers have found a bug that remotely opens smart garage doors